Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeGEM Food Brokers
Banner Image
Banner Image Location


Map Address
Map Address 200 Airpark Drive; Suite #40 Rochester, NY 14624


Location

Contact Information

200 Airpark Drive; Suite #40
Rochester, NY 14624
 
Phone              (800) 724-1475
Fax                  (585) 436-3514
Contact:          info@gemfoodbrokers.com

About

G.E.M. Food Brokers, Inc. was founded on November 1st, 1991 by Eric Gager
(President & General Manager) and Andrew Mahoney (Vice President).  Having
worked for two of the “large” food brokers of that day, and bringing nothing more
than entrepreneurial instincts, confidence in their relationships in the trade, and a
determination to succeed, the business was formed.  Over 25 years later GEM
continues to be owned and operated by the two original founders, and has grown
to a team of 14 comprised of 10 sales rep’s and 4 office staff.
.  
GEM is a full line foodservice broker calling on all of Upstate NY’s foodservice
distributors and their customers, some of which include grocery chains like Wegmans,
Tops Markets, and Price Chopper.  In addition, we sell and support Curtze Foodservice
out of Erie, PA with a dedicated GEM sales representative living in Erie, PA
 
Above all else, we bring integrity and professionalism to our business transactions.
We enjoy long standing relationships in the trade, and we look to partner with those
manufacturers that are capable of providing the products, pricing, service and stability
we rely on to be successful with our Operator and Distributor customers.






Capabilities / Specialties

GEM’s sales staff consists of seasoned professionals offering relationships with the
market’s Key Operators and Distributors.  Our office personnel function as a vital link
between the Principal and Distributor, handling order processing, marketing, chargebacks,
bids, IT support, and communications.  These strategic relationships, along with a working
knowledge of the local trade, enable us to get products placed and distribution established.
We show our Principal’s where to go, and where not to go.
 
With Upstate New York’s larger metropolitan areas like Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse,
Binghamton, Utica, Watertown, and Albany separated by many miles, our sales staff live
and work in their respective markets.  Each sales region is self-contained by maintaining
frozen, dry, and refrigerated storage facilities, as well as home offices with all of today’s
technological necessities.
 
While we provide dedicated sales personnel in support of the national distributors, we
also work closely with the independent distributors and their affiliated buying groups.
On the operator side, we sell to all classes of trade including Colleges & Universities,
B & I, Healthcare,  K-12, C-Stores, Fast Casual Chains, Independent Grocers, Diners,
Seasonal Accounts, Country Clubs, Banquet Facilities, Convention Centers, Casino’s,
and Sports Venues.

 
It’s our people who really perform, from our knowledgeable and thorough customer service staff, to our street-support sales team. They are the reason we have continually earned top sales awards from our packers since the inception of our company.

When you work with us, you benefit from years of relationships built throughout the Upstate NY, relationships built upon performance, trust, and good faith.

Principals


Eric J. Gager

President & General Manager

ejgager@gemfoodbrokers.com

 

Andrew J. Mahoney

Vice President

amahoney@gemfoodbrokers.com


Staff

 

Corporate Office - Rochester, NY

Eric J. Gager

President & General Mgr

ejgager@gemfoodbrokers.com

Jaime Crafts

CSR/K-12/Bids

jcrafts@gemfoodbrokers.com

Steve Elliott

CSR/Tech/Commissions

selliott@gemfoodbrokers.com

Marcy Reynolds

CSR/Mktg & Comm.

mreynolds@gemfoodbrokers.com


Western Sales Region

Andrew J. Mahoney

VP of Sales

amahoney@gemfoodbrokers.com

Kirk Seth

Account Manager

kseth@gemfoodbrokers.com

Maxwell Mahoney

Account Manager

mmahoney@gemfoodbrokers.com


Central NY Sales Region

Anthony Rowe

Account Mgr / Corp. Chef

arowe@gemfoodbrokers.com

Michael Hutchison

Account Manager

mhutchison@gemfoodbrokers.com

William McGillivray

Account Mgr / Corp. Chef

bmcgillivray@gemfoodbrokers.com

Jim Loforte

K-12 & Healthcare

jloforte@gemfoodbrokers.com


Eastern Sales Region

Crystal Whiting

Sales Mgr - Eastern Region

cbedard@gemfoodbrokers.com

Robert Leddick

Account Manager

rleddick@gemfoodbrokers.com

Shawn Starring

Operator Specialist

sstarring@gemfoodbrokers.com


Total Staff

11
Sales
3
Customer Service
1
Chef(s)